Predictions…

Wow, two posts in two days?  What’s up with that! 😉

So I was on Facebook yesterday, and I saw one of my friends post on Cheri22’s page.  For those of you who don’t know, Cheri22 is an Email-based “psychic,” specializing in pregnancy sorts of things.

Back in my early months on the message boards, I saw lots of “My Cheri22 prediction!” posts, and “Cheri22 was right!” or “JennyRenny [another so-called “psychic”] was right!”  So, in my eternal optimism, I bought a reading from Cheri22.  Seeing her pop up on Facebook, I decided to go back and read her prediction.

Dated 4/1/11: “They show you guys having a little girl and they relate her to APRIL so this is either birth month, conceive month or the month you find out in.”
Hmm.  Nope.  Though, I suppose this isn’t too far off from my miscarriage, which had an EDD of May 1st.  But yeah, she predicts birth month, conceive month, or month you find out… and was still wrong.  I’m now due in November, conceived in February, and found out in March.  Anyway, the reading goes on to describe lots of generic personality traits, a lot of which apply to me, so are entirely feasible.  Blah blah blah.

Then a little while later, I decided to get a reading from JennyRenny.
Dated 7/2/11: “Your reading reveals that your BFP news comes the month of July from a cycle that begins in June. The baby shows as a girl and her EDD/birth date is referenced the month of March 2012 – specific reference to the 11th and 17th.”
Wrong again!!  Even if you look at the miscarriage, I conceived and found out in August, and was due in May 2012.

So, I guess the moral of the story is, if you want to spend $5 for a little fun, and to have some “psychic” tell you what you want to hear, go ahead.  Maybe they’ll get it right — even a broken clock is right twice a day!  I’m just amused to see those now.

And, just for fun, and because I’m bored, the Chinese gender predictor also says I’m having a girl.  At least the one on BabyCenter.  The one on TheBump says Boy, but it doesn’t calculate lunar age….  Anyway, it’s all in good fun.  We’ll find out in 6 days!!

Leave a Reply

