Where everybody knows your name…

And they’re always glad you came…

Funny, because nobody there knows my full name.  I’m talking about the big A word: Anonymous.  12-step recovery programs.  Whoa, plural?  Yes, plural.

I’ve been going to Gambler’s Anonymous for almost a year now.  And I’ve been going to an “Anon” group for a few months now.  That’s the other side of addiction — being affected by someone else’s addiction.

I don’t even know how many people read this anymore, but just saying that out loud is huge for me… and really hard.

“I am only as sick as my secrets.”  And I feel like I’ve been keeping these things secret.  (I know I posted about GA here once before, but still)

Because I still feel so.much.shame.  About both these issues.

So, that’s all I’ve got for now.

Leave a Reply

